Harpo, Michigan agrees to rewrite contract

Harpo, Michigan agrees to rewrite contract



Harpo, Michigan agrees to rewrite contract

16/2/2020 4:45:00 PM

// Dave Applough, Chad Shepherd

Ann Arbor, Michigan. University of Michigan soccer coach J. Era and Nikki Harris, head of the soccer family Jim Harbo They agreed to a new five-year contract that runs until the 2026 season. The contract changes the terms and duration of the deal signed last January with an additional season.

“Jim has done a fantastic job coaching and developing the youth in our football programme,” he said. Manuel Rose, director of Donald R. Shepard Athletics. “Last season, Jim along with the staff and players had an unforgettable season that will stay with us all for a long time. As the coach said, this is just the beginning. Academically, our program has been one of the best in the Big Ten leaders across the country. We have graduated our players. They were young guys with great personality who did the right things. I have great confidence in the direction of the program under Jim’s leadership.”

“I love Michigan Football, the University of Michigan, and the Ann Arbor community,” Harbaugh said. “My family and I are excited to continue to lead this football program, and we are grateful for the support that our Sports Department and our university management have towards the team. I appreciate everything our players, coaches and staff do to excel off the football field. My enthusiasm for tomorrow, the next day and every day that follows. More high than ever, we are ready to step into the training ground and begin preparations for the 2022 season. Go blue!”

Harbaugh led Michigan to the 2021 Big Ten Championship, the first program title in the conference since 2004 with a 42-3 victory over No. 12 in Iowa at Lucas Oil Stadium. The Wolverines made his College Football Playoff debut, losing to eventual national champion Georgia in the Orange Bowl. UM finished the year third in the final polls, its highest result since 1997.

Michigan won 12 games in 2021 for only the third time in the school’s history, equaling the school’s record-breaking total of wins for the 1905 and 1997 teams. The Wolverines won the Big Ten East Division title with a 42-27 victory over No. 2 Ohio State to finish the regular season with a conference score of 8 -1.

UM had 22 players (10 offensive, nine defense, three special) recognized by all-conference awards, led by six players from the All-Big Ten first team. In addition, the defensive end Aidan Hutchinson and kicker Jake Moody The all-American consensus was named. Hutchinson finished second in the Heisman Trophy and won the Rotary Lombardi Award, the Ted Hendricks Award, the Lott IMPACT Trophy, and was awarded the Chicago Tribune Silver Football Player of the Year as Big Ten as voted by the conference coaches. Moody became Michigan’s first-ever Lou Groza winner as the country’s top player.

Harbaugh was named the Associated Press’ Coach of the Year for 2021. He was also a finalist for Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year, Paul Bryant “Bear” Coach of the Year, Coach of the Year George Munger, and the Bobby Dodd Cup.

In seven seasons in Michigan (2015-21), Harbaugh led the program to a record total of 61-24 with four 10 campaign wins. Seven players have won All-America first-team awards and a total of 80 Wolverines have won All-Big Ten (first, second or third team) awards during his tenure. In addition, Jake Butt, Gabriel Peppers, Hutchinson, and Moody won individual national awards, with Peppers and Hutchinson taking the top five in the Heisman Trophy poll.